View unanswered posts | View active topics

Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Error: Access of undefined property 

Hi all:

First, let me say that FlashDevelop is amazing and I'm very thankful to the community for making it available.

Me, although I'm new to Flash/Flex development I've been a web developer using PHP/MySQL or ASP/SQL Server for almost 15 years so I'm no dev newbie.

The downside to FlashDevelop I'm learning is that it is very hard to find working examples on the web that target FlashDevelop; everything assumes either Flash or FlexBuilder. Sigh. Maybe FlashDevelop will become more popular and lots of people will be posting examples using it online!

Anyway, I've got a really stupid problem I can't get passed. All examples I can find seem to imply that use of a "id" attribute in MXML files provides access to the components via ActionScript, but every thing I try when I combine ActionScript with MXML gives me "Error: Access of undefined property." So I created this trivial example to illustrate my problem. My simple example uses a "Flex 3 Project" with only the one "Main.mxml" file containing the following, and I get the error "Access of undefined property btn." when I try to compile:
Code:
<?xml version="1.0"?>
<mx:Application xmlns:mx="http://www.adobe.com/2006/mxml">
      <mx:Button id="btn" height="100" width="300" label="Click Me"/>
      <mx:Script>
         <![CDATA[
         btn.height = 200;
         ]]>
      </mx:Script>
</mx:Application>

Any help to tell me what I'm boneheadedly doing wrong will be greatly appreciated!

Sun Jul 13, 2008 9:44 am
Admin

Thanks, FD is quite popular but examples are hard to find (and sometimes are really out of date).

There's some documentation being written but it mainly talks about Flash CS3 + FlashDevelop workflows:
http://flashdevelop.org/wikidocs/index. ... =Main_Page