View unanswered posts | View active topics



Reply to topic  [ 43 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Hey guys -- Flash Player 10 and the nightly build Flex 3 SDK 
Author Message
Member

Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2007 3:37 pm
Posts: 1223
Location: Grizzly Flats, CA
Hi everyone,

Check it out, so Adobe released a prerelease version of Flash Player 10 (Astro). If you download the nightly build of the Flex 3 SDK you can actually publish for Flash 10, although time will reveal what that practically means in the way of features and classes available.


Here's an article with the nitty gritty details:

http://opensource.adobe.com/wiki/displa ... +SDK+3.0.x


Here's the page about it on Adobe labs:

http://labs.adobe.com/technologies/flashplayer10/


Here's where you can download the nightly builds:

http://opensource.adobe.com/wiki/displa ... oad+Flex+3


And lastly, do you think there's a way to target Flash Player 10 using FlashDevelop? Would we need to use different SDK paths to set up the flex-config correctly?

Thanks, and have fun toying


Fri May 16, 2008 2:32 am
Profile WWW
Member

Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2007 3:37 pm
Posts: 1223
Location: Grizzly Flats, CA
Post 
One more thing,

Flash Player 10 includes the ability to use custom filters and shaders in your content, using the new "Pixel Bender" toolkit. I'm guessing (for those who follow these things) that this is the "Hydra" language Adobe mentioned earlier.

For all who are interested, here's where you can learn more about Pixel Bender:

http://labs.adobe.com/wiki/index.php/Pi ... er_Toolkit


Fri May 16, 2008 2:55 am
Profile WWW
Admin

Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 7:27 am
Posts: 12172
Location: London
Post 
Yes that's great news - I am currently fixing FP10 support in FD:
- done: allowing targeting FP10 in project settings and building,
- working on: supporting the new stuff in SWCs.


Fri May 16, 2008 7:26 am
Profile WWW
Member

Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2008 2:29 pm
Posts: 61
Post 
That's not just a great future, it's the future!
I didn't get if you got that now flash will be accelerated using Opengl 2.0 compliant cards!
Pixel blender = pixel shader!
Real 3D games, with nowadays graphic effects.
I'm looking forward to know if FD can already be used with this new tech.


Fri May 16, 2008 1:20 pm
Profile
Admin

Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 7:27 am
Posts: 12172
Location: London
Post 
Cleaned up the announce:
http://www.flashdevelop.org/community/v ... php?t=3039

To sum up:
- FP10 support in FD (project, building),
- plus code completion support for Vector type.


Fri May 16, 2008 7:35 pm
Profile WWW
Member

Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 3:01 pm
Posts: 11
Post 
Sweet! Maybe we can call it a wrap soon then guys? You've been posting Beta releases for almost a year now (May 31, 2007) and truth is - the average developer don't want to use software labeled as "Beta". Sorry for nagging you about this again, but if the product is stable, why call it a Beta and not a release?

@nIg3D You want to see the future? This is just wicked!
http://www.flashmagazine.com/News/detai ... player_10/
3D shooter running in my browser at 30 fps / 1920x1200 pix resolution!!!

J


Fri May 16, 2008 10:15 pm
Profile WWW
Member

Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2007 11:43 pm
Posts: 28
Post 
Is there anyone we can get auto complete for the new classes and members?

Right now I have the swc added to my project folder so I can see the classes in the project window. But I can't see them in auto complete, and even in the project window it doesn't show what the parameters of methods are it just shows methodName() even if it has parameters.

What is the best way to set it up to play with?


Sun May 18, 2008 5:15 pm
Profile
Admin

Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 7:27 am
Posts: 12172
Location: London
Post 
Martin Munoz wrote:
Is there anyone we can get auto complete for the new classes and members?

Right now I have the swc added to my project folder so I can see the classes in the project window. But I can't see them in auto complete, and even in the project window it doesn't show what the parameters of methods are it just shows methodName() even if it has parameters.

What is the best way to set it up to play with?

Did you get the latest SVN build?

If you get the build and carefully follow all the details in the following post it should work fine:
http://www.flashdevelop.org/community/v ... php?t=3039


Sun May 18, 2008 5:20 pm
Profile WWW
Member

Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2007 3:37 pm
Posts: 1223
Location: Grizzly Flats, CA
Post 
I've noticed that there are some methods that are not showing up in autocomplete, but depending upon how you have autocompletion on intrinsic methods I would imagine this is simply an issue of discovering and adding new signatures into the library for FlashDevelop.

One example are the new "rotationX", "rotationY" and "rotationZ" properties on DisplayObjects. When I use your example Flash 10 project I can compile the project with these methods perfectly, but they don't show up in autocompletion.

But like I said, if autocomplete is done on more of a manual basis then this is certainly more of a new feature to add rather than a bug.

FlashDevelop is probably the best application out there right now for publishing or playing with Flash Player 10.


Sun May 18, 2008 11:38 pm
Profile WWW
Admin

Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 7:27 am
Posts: 12172
Location: London
Post 
elyon wrote:
One example are the new "rotationX", "rotationY" and "rotationZ" properties on DisplayObjects. When I use your example Flash 10 project I can compile the project with these methods perfectly, but they don't show up in autocompletion.

Make sure you added FP10's playerglobal.swc to your External Libraries (in project's compiler options).

Also check you have downloaded the latest build - I updated it 2 times already.


Mon May 19, 2008 7:10 am
Profile WWW
Member

Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2007 3:37 pm
Posts: 1223
Location: Grizzly Flats, CA
Post 
Oh, funny. I see it now.

I updated to revision 2300 but I still wasn't seeing the completion for rotation. I built the solution and copied files to Program Files to update my main version. However I just tried running the project from my Bin\Debug directory directly and it works like a charm.

Thank you :)


Mon May 19, 2008 6:58 pm
Profile WWW
Member

Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2007 11:43 pm
Posts: 28
Post 
Working great for me too.


Tue May 20, 2008 5:23 pm
Profile
Member

Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2007 11:43 pm
Posts: 28
Post 
Is anyone having problems with array psuedo typing in the latest revisions?

Code:
import flash.display.Bitmap;

...

public var images:/*Bitmap*/Array;


images. <-- completes properly
images[i]. <-- does nothing


Wed May 21, 2008 4:29 pm
Profile
Admin

Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 7:27 am
Posts: 12172
Location: London
Post 
Martin Munoz wrote:
Is anyone having problems with array psuedo typing in the latest revisions?

Code:
import flash.display.Bitmap;

...

public var images:/*Bitmap*/Array;


images. <-- completes properly
images[i]. <-- does nothing

Correct, this is broken - I'll fix that.


Wed May 21, 2008 7:05 pm
Profile WWW
Member

Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 3:12 pm
Posts: 187
Location: Leipzig, Germany
Post 
just in case this has gone unnoticed to some of you:
http://download.macromedia.com/pub/labs ... r10_as3lan
gref_052008.zip

greetz
back2dos


Thu May 22, 2008 12:52 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 43 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.