View unanswered posts | View active topics

Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
Components with FD and MTASC 

I am a component developer who is running into some problems. My customers want to use FD, my components and MTASC to make their projects.

They say the need the source code files to compile with mtasc otherwise mtasc throws errors (something about intrinsic type checking). I have had only one customer say it's possible to use my components with mtasc but did not indicate how. I cannot give the source code due to some contracts that I have to work out. I really want to help them.

Can someone please, for the sake of my customers tell me how to setup a project in FD that uses components and is compiled using mtasc?

My experience level with FD and mtasc is very little. I have been over this forum for the last few hours and have not found any examples of this to my dismay. TIA

Sun Feb 26, 2006 9:09 pm
Admin

I think your client only needs intrinsic classes. You can use <FD>/tools/IGen to generate these intrinsic classes from you component's classes. So they won't have any code, only declarations required for MTASC so they can include your component in their project.

If you distribute your component as a SWC, then you can rename the .SWC to .ZIP and you'll find these intrinsic classes inside too.

Sun Feb 26, 2006 9:42 pm
Profile WWW
Admin

To use a "closed source" component (MM components or third party SWC):

1. Drop the components you need on stage and remove them. They will be included in the SWF library.
2. Publish the SWF and in FlashDevelop: right-click on the file and select "Add to Library".
3a. If you are using MM components, make sure you select "Use MX" in the project compiler options.
3b. If you are using a third party SWC, you need to add the component's intrinsic classes to your project classpath.
4. Now you can use the components in your FlashDevelop project :)

Sun Feb 26, 2006 9:59 pm
Profile WWW