View unanswered posts | View active topics



Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
where is the debugger or host application running? 
Author Message
Admin

Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 7:27 am
Posts: 12172
Location: London
Reply with quote
Post 
Good news everyone - in the latest development releases you'll see I managed to host the Flex debugger for traces capture (breakpoints debugging is planned in the future), so no more FlashConnect & no more typing 'continue'. This feature can be disabled in the AS3Context settings if you still want to manually use the debugger.

Still it is safer to run your SWFs using the external player...


Mon Aug 13, 2007 9:05 pm
Profile WWW
Member

Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 11:03 pm
Posts: 37
Reply with quote
Post 
one word


AWESOME


Mon Aug 13, 2007 9:09 pm
Profile
Member

Joined: Mon May 07, 2007 12:38 pm
Posts: 25
Location: cape town, south africa
Reply with quote
Post 
Two words

TOTALLY AWESOME!

this really improves workflow. using the external flex debugger was a real pain (compile, switch, "run", switch, "localhost", switch, "continue", switch), and using a custom class for tracing felt messy. this is the perfect solution. thanks!


Tue Aug 14, 2007 10:12 am
Profile WWW
Member

Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 7:07 am
Posts: 9
Reply with quote
Post 
Philippe wrote:
Good news everyone - in the latest development releases you'll see I managed to host the Flex debugger for traces capture (breakpoints debugging is planned in the future), so no more FlashConnect & no more typing 'continue'.


Can you please explain to me how I can get this working?
I've downloaded the latest development release, but i still need to type 'run' / 'continue' to debug.

Thanks a lot!
PIE


Thu Aug 16, 2007 7:10 am
Profile
Admin

Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 7:27 am
Posts: 12172
Location: London
Reply with quote
Post 
pie wrote:
Philippe wrote:
Good news everyone - in the latest development releases you'll see I managed to host the Flex debugger for traces capture (breakpoints debugging is planned in the future), so no more FlashConnect & no more typing 'continue'.


Can you please explain to me how I can get this working?
I've downloaded the latest development release, but i still need to type 'run' / 'continue' to debug.

Thanks a lot!
PIE

It should just work - do you build the project using the F5-Test movie command? Which revision is your dev release?


Thu Aug 16, 2007 8:07 am
Profile WWW
Member

Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 7:07 am
Posts: 9
Reply with quote
Post 
Philippe wrote:
It should just work - do you build the project using the F5-Test movie command? Which revision is your dev release?


Hi,

I'm using 'FlashDevelop 3 rev. 1769' (clean install) ... and yes, i'm using F5, compiling the DEBUG version.

A few quesions...
- Do I even need to start and run the 'fdb.exe'?
- Does it mather if I choose 'Test movie:' Default / Document / Popup / External?

I'm now using External because most other options give me this arror:

Code:
The specified module could not be found. (Exception from HRESULT: 0x8007007E)

   at System.Windows.Forms.UnsafeNativeMethods.CoCreateInstance(Guid& clsid, Object punkOuter, Int32 context, Guid& iid)
   at System.Windows.Forms.AxHost.CreateWithoutLicense(Guid clsid)
   at System.Windows.Forms.AxHost.CreateWithLicense(String license, Guid clsid)
   at System.Windows.Forms.AxHost.CreateInstanceCore(Guid clsid)
   at System.Windows.Forms.AxHost.CreateInstance()
   at System.Windows.Forms.AxHost.GetOcxCreate()
   at System.Windows.Forms.AxHost.TransitionUpTo(Int32 state)
   at System.Windows.Forms.AxHost.CreateHandle()
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.CreateControl(Boolean fIgnoreVisible)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.CreateControl(Boolean fIgnoreVisible)
   at System.Windows.Forms.AxHost.EndInit()
   at FlashViewer.Controls.FlashView.InitializeComponent()
   at FlashViewer.Controls.FlashView..ctor(String file)
   at FlashViewer.PluginMain.CreateDocument(String file)
   at FlashViewer.PluginMain.HandleCommand(DataEvent evnt)


BTW, I am on a Win XP SP2 computer...

Thanks for any help!
PIE


Thu Aug 16, 2007 8:48 am
Profile
Admin

Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 7:27 am
Posts: 12172
Location: London
Reply with quote
Post 
PIE, check you have the standalone debug player (external mode) and the Internet Explorer ActiveX debug player (other view modes). These can be found in Adobe website.

PS: you don't have to run fdb at all yourself.


Thu Aug 16, 2007 9:22 am
Profile WWW
Member

Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 7:07 am
Posts: 9
Reply with quote
Post 
Philippe wrote:
PIE, check you have the standalone debug player (external mode) and the Internet Explorer ActiveX debug player (other view modes). These can be found in Adobe website.

PS: you don't have to run fdb at all yourself.


I just reinstalled all players... i now don't get the errors anymore... but it now keeps coming with the 'where is the debugger or host application running' popup again... Am i that stupid or?... ;)

Thanks again.
PIE


Thu Aug 16, 2007 10:23 am
Profile
Admin

Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 7:27 am
Posts: 12172
Location: London
Reply with quote
Post 
What do you get in the output panel? There should be messages about FDB beeing launched.

Also, check in the AS3Context settings that Flex Debugger Hosting is not disabled.


Thu Aug 16, 2007 11:17 am
Profile WWW
Member

Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 7:07 am
Posts: 9
Reply with quote
Post 
Philippe wrote:
What do you get in the output panel? There should be messages about FDB beeing launched.


Code:
Running process: C:\Program Files\FlashDevelop\FirstRun\Tools\fdbuild\fdbuild.exe "H:\FlashDevelop\EP_Test\EP_Test.as3proj" -ipc 1f38a131-de19-472d-82d3-79ec707d00e4 -compiler "C:\Program Files\FlashDevelop\flex_sdk_2" -library "C:\Program Files\FlashDevelop\FirstRun\Library" -cp "C:\Program Files\Adobe\Adobe Flash CS3\en\Configuration\ActionScript 3.0\Classes" -cp "C:\Program Files\Adobe\Adobe Flash CS3\en\Configuration\Component Source\ActionScript 3.0\User Interface"
Using the Flex Compiler Shell.
Building EP_Test
mxmlc -load-config+=obj\EP_TestConfig.xml -debug=true -incremental=true -accessible=false  -o obj\EP_Test633228580908853622
compile 1
 Loading configuration file C:\Program Files\FlashDevelop\flex_sdk_2\frameworks\flex-config.xml
Loading configuration file H:\FlashDevelop\EP_Test\obj\EP_TestConfig.xml
Nothing has changed since the last compile. Skip...
obj\EP_Test633228580908853622 (28656 bytes)
(fcsh)
Build succeeded
Done (0)


Philippe wrote:
Also, check in the AS3Context settings that Flex Debugger Hosting is not disabled.


Sorry but i don't see tyhis setting in AS3Context or any other 'tabs'.

I'm starting to think it's my computer here at work... maybe i should try again at home and see what happens.

Cheers,
PJ


Thu Aug 16, 2007 12:20 pm
Profile
Member

Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 7:07 am
Posts: 9
Reply with quote
Post 
Just checked it at home... fresh install... debug player installed.
I'm still getting the 'where is the debugger or host application running' message...

:roll:


Thu Aug 16, 2007 6:39 pm
Profile
Admin

Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 7:27 am
Posts: 12172
Location: London
Reply with quote
Post 
Ah I'll upload a new dev' build tomorrow - we'll see if we get any improvement...


Thu Aug 16, 2007 7:15 pm
Profile WWW
Member

Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 7:07 am
Posts: 9
Reply with quote
Post 
Great! :)


Thu Aug 16, 2007 8:26 pm
Profile
Member

Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2007 3:37 pm
Posts: 1223
Location: Grizzly Flats, CA
Reply with quote
Post 
Hello,

I saw this thread so I went and downloaded the latest build from the forum (rev 1769). I want to be able to get trace messages inside of FlashDevelop.

When I try to test the project using the external player, I get the following messages:

Code:
Attempting to launch and connect to Player using URL
Documents\Sandbox\Portfolio\v2\Portfolio.swf
File not found: Documents\Sandbox\Portfolio\v2\Portfolio.swf
Attempting to launch and connect to Player using URL
Settings\jdgranix\My
File not found: Settings\jdgranix\My
Attempting to launch and connect to Player using URL
and
File not found: and
Attempting to launch and connect to Player using URL
C:\Documents
File not found: C:\Documents
(fdb)


This appears to be due to some of the spaces in two of my directory names.

When I try to test the project as a document or popup, the project works on both debug and release settings, but I do not receive any trace messages.

I have pointed the FlashViewer plugin to use fdb.exe within my Flex SDK folder and I have a debugger player installed in Internet Explorer.

On the other hand, I do not see an option under the AS3Context plugin to disable hosting of the debugger.

Is it possible that I may have the wrong build of FlashDevelop?

Thank you!


Mon Aug 20, 2007 9:14 pm
Profile WWW
Admin

Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 7:27 am
Posts: 12172
Location: London
Reply with quote
Post 
We'll check this problem.

To disable FDB hosting it's in: Tools > Installed Plugins > AS3Context settings.


Tue Aug 21, 2007 7:17 am
Profile WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 26 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.