View unanswered posts | View active topics



Reply to topic  [ 32 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Call for action to Mac and Linux users... 
Author Message
Member

Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 10:41 am
Posts: 8
Reply with quote
I would love to try this, but from what I know, this wouldnt work on a ARM7 architecture, would it?


Sat Mar 21, 2015 1:21 pm
Profile
Member

Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 3:49 am
Posts: 11
Reply with quote
Just installed FD5 beta with Crossover's built in app installer on a MBA 13 Yosemite
And everything is running perfectly out of the box, super impressive.

When running in fullscreen mode though, there will be black strips at the top and bottom,
wondering if there is anyway to fix it?


Sat May 02, 2015 4:57 pm
Profile
Admin

Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2005 6:14 pm
Posts: 3046
Location: Finland
Reply with quote
koblongata: I take a look at it if there is something i do to fix that. Might be a CrossOver issue.

Reminder to all: Use FD Bridge for improved Mac/Linux compability and functionality.


Tue May 05, 2015 10:32 am
Profile WWW
Member

Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 3:49 am
Posts: 11
Reply with quote
Thanks for your reply, cool, looking forward to any findings you get from CrossOver.
So does that mean if I use Wine it won't have this "moive-letter-box" issue? don't really want to look into that option though, seems going to take quite some effort to make it work... Hopefully the CrossOver version could be more perfect!
And also, I can't set fonts, whenever I try it, FD will throw an exception :/ is it expected?
Thank you again, for this great IDE...


Tue May 05, 2015 5:33 pm
Profile
Admin

Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2005 6:14 pm
Posts: 3046
Location: Finland
Reply with quote
I don't know yet, might be with wine also. Which fonts you tried? There are some restrictions what kind of fonts you can use with .NET:

Quote:
When using Font, InstalledFontCollection, FontDialog and SystemFonts, the
following font formats are not allowed, even though the operating system
fully supports them:

- Device-specific/printer fonts
- Raster/bitmap fonts
- OpenType (erratic; Microsoft's fonts are allowed, Adobe's fonts are not
allowed)*
- Type 1

This is because of GDI+, which only supports minimal TrueType. Currently,
there is no work-around possible, as everything inside System.Windows.Forms
requires the use of Font-objects.


Tue May 05, 2015 7:13 pm
Profile WWW
Member

Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 3:49 am
Posts: 11
Reply with quote
http://1drv.ms/1dMAFoB

Above is the link containing screenshots:

Showing the letter box.
In the syntax coloring window, the fields are empty for default item style.
And when trying to set the font properties, tried many including Courier New and Consola, FD would throw exception, and can't set font size alone too.

The default fonts are nice enough really though, the letter box issue is bit more concerning, cause that's quite a bit of screen real estate.

Thank you for following this up!


Wed May 06, 2015 8:02 am
Profile
Admin

Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2005 6:14 pm
Posts: 3046
Location: Finland
Reply with quote
koblongata:

For some reason the full screen works incorrectly because the wrapper also should go to fullscreen and it does not. Also if you first make the wrapper window fullscreen the fullscreen command in FD cancels the wrapper window fullscreen.

The syntax coloring windows error is a widespread issue as the initial form events in CrossOver don't work correctly. So when you open the dialog, select some other style first and then the default style and from that point on it should work fine.


Thu May 07, 2015 5:22 am
Profile WWW
Member

Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 3:49 am
Posts: 11
Reply with quote
Mika,

So there won't be a easy fix in foreseeable future I guess? Though I think I can live with it, it would be perfect to have full screen working!

Cool, got it working now. Thank you!


Thu May 07, 2015 5:52 am
Profile
Admin

Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2005 6:14 pm
Posts: 3046
Location: Finland
Reply with quote
We have a contact to the devs and let see if we can make these fixes happen but no help for now.


Thu May 07, 2015 6:09 am
Profile WWW
Member

Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 3:49 am
Posts: 11
Reply with quote
Great to know! at least some hope :)


Thu May 07, 2015 6:22 am
Profile
Member

Joined: Sun Jan 15, 2012 3:49 am
Posts: 11
Reply with quote
I think the best solution would be just use Parallels instead, you get fully operational FlashDevelop with absolutely no hiccups, and the gesture scrolling works much better too.

Battery life wise, for the 2015 MacBook Pro 13 Retina I got, since most of the time are spent pondering :) and typing, I can easily use it full day without worrying about the battery, easily more than 12 hours of nonstop working time, and unlike Windows laptops, MacBooks use near zero energy while sleeping so you will always get that working time on a single charge, which is really amazing...


Wed Jun 03, 2015 10:12 am
Profile
Member

Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2015 12:23 am
Posts: 7
Reply with quote
I tried the latest version of FD on my Mac with Crossover and everything seems to run fine. The problem I have now is I want to compile for IOS and I can't run the included PackageApp.bat file in Crossover. Has anyone found a workaround for compiling iOS apps on Mac using FD? Thanks.

In the meantime I may try out a vm solution.


Tue Aug 25, 2015 5:12 am
Profile
Admin

Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2005 6:14 pm
Posts: 3046
Location: Finland
Reply with quote
Are you trying to call a native Mac app or a CrossOver one?


Wed Sep 30, 2015 7:39 am
Profile WWW
Member

Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 4:50 pm
Posts: 7
Reply with quote
Hello
I'm considering getting a mac and was wondering how good does flashdevelop works in crossover or wine.
Does general coding work fine (auto complete, auto import, etc) ?
Running and debugging?
What about running and debugging in devices connected with usb?
Thank you

_________________
Portafolio: http://portafolio.eago.xyz


Sat Feb 06, 2016 5:53 am
Profile WWW
Admin

Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 7:27 am
Posts: 12172
Location: London
Reply with quote
eago wrote:
Hello
I'm considering getting a mac and was wondering how good does flashdevelop works in crossover or wine.
Does general coding work fine (auto complete, auto import, etc) ?
Running and debugging?
What about running and debugging in devices connected with usb?
Thank you

General coding works fine - I think there is still a few issues around tooltips sizing though.

You can definitely do run/debug from within Crossover/wine, using a Flash Player either standalone or in browser but it must also be running inside crossover/wine.
It will be a bit more complicated if the Flash Player is running on the Mac side but I believe it's possible if you specify the IP of your windows guest.
Not sure about AIR debugging - it tends to be finicky.

USB devices should be available to Crossower/wine - with Parallels/VMWare/VirtualBox you're asked what OS should receive the USB device.


Fri Feb 19, 2016 3:52 pm
Profile WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 32 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.