View unanswered posts | View active topics



Reply to topic  [ 74 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
FlashDevelop Source Control plugin 
Author Message
Admin

Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 7:27 am
Posts: 12172
Location: London
Source Control integration in FlashDevelop
The goal of FDSC is to integrate seamlessly the most common Source Control solutions, like SVN and GIT, in FlashDevelop.

Features:
- SVN and Git support,
- status overlays in project tree,
- automatic rename/move/delete commands,
- leverage TortoiseSVN/Git* tools family for graphical operations.

* Although Tortoise will be used to display some dialogs, Tortoise’s Windows Explorer integration (ie. context menu, overlays) can be entirely disabled.

More info & download:
http://philippe.elsass.me/flashdevelop- ... ol-plugin/

Installation:
- Unzip the content of the archive in FD program files,
- Restart FD and enable SVN and/or GIT in FDSC plugin properties,
- Restart FD again to activate the integration.


Tue Jul 20, 2010 12:05 pm
Profile WWW
Member

Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 2:18 pm
Posts: 9
To Install and Use with SVN (Assumes TortoiseSVN is installed):

  • Unzip contents into your installation directory (C:\Program Files (x86)\FlashDevelop\)
  • Restart FlashDevelop if it's running.
  • Hit "F10" to go into Settings (or use the menu and navigate to Tools-> Program Settings...)
  • Find "Source Control"
  • Set SVN/GIT Enablers as needed.

Settings for SVN look like so: http://screencast.com/t/MzUxMzk5O


Tue Jul 20, 2010 2:00 pm
Profile
Member

Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 3:36 am
Posts: 170
Philippe wrote:
Source Control integration in FlashDevelop
The goal of FDSC is to integrate seamlessly the most common Source Control solutions, like SVN and GIT, in FlashDevelop.

Features:
- SVN and Git support,
- status overlays in project tree,
- automatic rename/move/delete commands,
- leverage TortoiseSVN/Git* tools family for graphical operations.

* Although Tortoise will be used to display some dialogs, Tortoise’s Windows Explorer integration (ie. context menu, overlays) can be entirely disabled.

More info & download:
http://philippe.elsass.me/flashdevelop- ... ol-plugin/

Installation:
- Unzip the content of the archive in FD program files,
- Restart FD and enable SVN and/or GIT in FDSC plugin properties,
- Restart FD again to activate the integration.


I ♥ you ;-)


Tue Jul 20, 2010 2:02 pm
Profile
Member

Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2010 2:11 pm
Posts: 8
Thanks for this plugin, it will be very useful!

Bug:
When enabled, the delete key doesn't appear to work when trying to delete something from the project tree. You have to right-click, choose shell menu, and then delete.

Jobe Makar
Electrotank


Tue Jul 20, 2010 2:13 pm
Profile
Member

Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2010 2:11 pm
Posts: 8
It appears that delete bug is intermittent (or possibly all in my head). It does work now. Not sure what was going on.

Jobe Makar
Electrotank


Tue Jul 20, 2010 2:27 pm
Profile
Admin

Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 7:27 am
Posts: 12172
Location: London
@jobemakar you're right, there is a bug with the delete key - happens when the edit actions (copy/cut/paste/delete) are grouped in a submenu of the context menu.


Tue Jul 20, 2010 2:55 pm
Profile WWW
Member

Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2010 11:44 pm
Posts: 79
Interesting... I'll definitely take a look at the source. I'm starting to use Mercurial myself, and at work we use Perforce, so if the plugin's structure is friendly to those SCMs I'll see if I can add to it. I know Mercurial is very similar to SVN and even more so GIT.


Wed Jul 21, 2010 5:11 pm
Profile
Admin

Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 7:27 am
Posts: 12172
Location: London
The plugin structure was definitely designed to be extended - even from another plugin. But I'll be happy to merge other VC solutions.

Plugin source now added to FD SVN (External/Plugins/SourceControl).


Wed Jul 21, 2010 6:37 pm
Profile WWW
Member

Joined: Sun Apr 23, 2006 2:55 am
Posts: 204
Location: Sydney, Australia
This is officially awesome. Great work!

_________________
http://www.quizmash.com


Thu Jul 22, 2010 5:32 am
Profile WWW
Member

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2010 9:43 am
Posts: 16
Location: cardiff
Cannot get this to work at all. Had big problems installing msysGit in the first place - the net installer doesn't work behind my corporate proxy and the full installer would just not complete the installation. Several hours later I give up and install GitGui instead which at least gets Git up and running (again, I'd installed that previously).

So I point TortoiseGit at the GitGui's Git installation and it appears to work fine via the Tortoise shell stuff (I can commit, revert, etc).

However, attempting to do any of this from the FD interface produces errors. Firstly, if I commit the Output panel shows:

Quote:
git commit -m "deleted stuff".
Unable to start git command:
The directory name is invalid


Any other operations cause an unhandled exception in FD, eg:
[quote]
System.InvalidOperationException: Cannot start process because a file name has not been provided.
at System.Diagnostics.Process.Start()
at System.Diagnostics.Process.Start(ProcessStartInfo startInfo)
at SourceControl.Sources.Git.TortoiseProc.Execute(String command, String path)
at SourceControl.Sources.Git.MenuItems.DiffChange_Click(Object sender, EventArgs e)
at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripItem.RaiseEvent(Object key, EventArgs e)
at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripMenuItem.OnClick(EventArgs e)
at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripItem.HandleClick(EventArgs e)
at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripItem.HandleMouseUp(MouseEventArgs e)
at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripItem.FireEventInteractive(EventArgs e, ToolStripItemEventType met)
at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripItem.FireEvent(EventArgs e, ToolStripItemEventType met)
at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStrip.OnMouseUp(MouseEventArgs mea)
at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripDropDown.OnMouseUp(MouseEventArgs mea)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmMouseUp(Message& m, MouseButtons button, Int32 clicks)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.ScrollableControl.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStrip.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripDropDown.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.OnMessage(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)


..etc, etc.
[quote]

Any ideas?


Last edited by dr_tchock on Thu Jul 22, 2010 10:45 am, edited 2 times in total.



Thu Jul 22, 2010 9:57 am
Profile
Member

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2010 9:43 am
Posts: 16
Location: cardiff
Ok some progress. I re-installed gitgui but this time allowed it to add variables to my environment path, thereby allowing me to set the GitPath to simply 'git' (as opposed to the full path to git.exe). This seems to have fixed the uncaught exceptions.

However, now I'm getting "Unable to get gits repository status (9009)" whenever I do anything and I still get "The directory name is invalid" when I commit.


Thu Jul 22, 2010 10:44 am
Profile
Admin

Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 7:27 am
Posts: 12172
Location: London
@dr_tchok
Did you set the path to TortoiseGIT's TortoiseProc.exe in the plugin settings?
Does git work from the command line? (it's a tricky beast)
What is the path of your project on your computer?

PS: added a note about the msysgit setup option.


Thu Jul 22, 2010 11:48 am
Profile WWW
Member

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2010 9:43 am
Posts: 16
Location: cardiff
Philippe wrote:
@dr_tchok
Did you set the path to TortoiseGIT's TortoiseProc.exe in the plugin settings?
Does git work from the command line? (it's a tricky beast)
What is the path of your project on your computer?

PS: added a note about the msysgit setup option.


Yes the TortoiseGit path is correct - entering "TortoiseProc.exe" works, the full path ("C:\Program Files\TortoiseGit\bin\TortoiseProc.exe") produces the aforementioned uncaught exception.

Git seems to work from the command line, ie. I can fire up a command line, enter "git" and it gives me a list of commands. I've not tried to do anything with the commands as I have no idea what to do!

I thought it may be a project path issue and so created one in c:/GitTest/ to no avail.

EDIT:

Just messing around with settings, adding the full path to git ("C:\Program Files\Git\bin\git.exe") no longer produces the Unable to get gits repository status (9009) error but I still can't commit.


Thu Jul 22, 2010 11:58 am
Profile
Member

Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2010 9:43 am
Posts: 16
Location: cardiff
Ok some further testing:

If I try to commit a folder, I get a window that pops us with:
Quote:
'chcp' is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file.

I get that same message if I just "git" from a command line, too.

If I try to commit a single .as file, the Output panel reads:
Quote:
git commit -m "message here"
which doesn't include the name of the file I'm commiting - is this relevant? If I want to commit a file via Bash, it's git commit Foo.as -m "bar"


Thu Jul 22, 2010 1:13 pm
Profile
Admin

Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2005 7:27 am
Posts: 12172
Location: London
I'll look into these git-related issues - I'm not (yet) a heavy user of this VC.


Thu Jul 22, 2010 1:17 pm
Profile WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 74 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by ST Software for PTF.